

Follow us through time as we reveal the rich history of the Brays Mill and Miller County. Enjoy a wide array of past and present photos, stories, memories and updates about the history of the Bray's Mill and the Bray's Community. Follow the page to see the future of the Bray's Mill as we restore the building and the property to relive and revive it's historical past and bring it to the present.
"Richwoods once had several blacksmith shops, stores, a wagon shop, and a schoolhouse as well as a post office. Later a mill was built on the banks of the tiny stream which flows through the town. The mill, once three stories in height, was cut down to two stories and used as a house. 15 Many of the people who now live in Richwoods commute to and from employment in St. Louis. "
"Becca Berg and her family are renovating the Bray's Mill site. They visited with Karen Wyrick Smith, Museum Director, to review photos of the site donated by Nancy Martin. By 1854 a water-powered mill was constructed at Bray's. This industry was the first permanent installation marking the beginning of Bray's hamlet.
Nearby in 1889 Tom Bray constructed a roller mill near the original water-powered grist mill. During harvest there was always a back-log of work for the mills. Overnight camping at the mill site was common as people slept under wagons and large bushes for protection from the falling dew and mosquitoes. About this time Will Morrow rebuilt the wooden water wheel, and helped in overhauling the older mill."
The photos below have been brought to us by Miss Nancy Graf. Miss Nancy lived in the Brays Mill for a time and is the daughter of Isaac Smit...